Home Daily News Odisha’s Top 5 News : 5th April

Odisha’s Top 5 News : 5th April

by Nita Mishra

Welcome to our website, your one-stop destination for the latest and most relevant Odisha’s Top 5 News, Latest news, Odisha updates, Politics in Odisha, Crime news, Education updates, Health news, Odisha top stories, Odisha developments. Our team works tirelessly to bring you the most accurate and up-to-date news from the state, covering a wide range of topics including politics, crime, education, health, and more.

In this section, we present to you the top 5 news stories from Odisha, carefully curated and summarized for your convenience. Stay informed and up-to-date on the latest developments in the state, and never miss an important news story again.

Whether you’re a resident of Odisha or simply interested in staying informed about the state, our website is the perfect resource for you. Bookmark us now and stay tuned for the latest news and updates from Odisha.

1. ECI Approves Changes: Rourkela SP, Cuttack DCP, and Angul SP Appointments Confirmed

ECI has given the green light for new appointments in key positions in Odisha. This includes the Rourkela Superintendent of Police (SP), Cuttack Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP), and Angul Superintendent of Police (SP).
According to the letter sent to Odisha Chief Secretary by the ECI, the new appointments are as follows: Brijesh Kumar Rai will take on the role of Rourkela SP, Prakash R will serve as Cuttack DCP, and Dr. Umashankar Dash will assume the position of Angul SP.
The ECI’s decision came after the transfer orders were issued for three officers previously holding these positions: Rourkela SP Mitrabhanu Mahapatra, Cuttack DCP Kanwar Vishal Singh, and Angul SP Sudhansu Sekhar Mishra.
Upon receiving the ECI’s directive, the Odisha government swiftly transferred these officials to their new postings.
In related news, earlier this week, the Election Commission of India (ECI) had directed the immediate transfer of two IAS officers and six IPS officers ahead of the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections.

2.Odisha Introduces ‘Water Bell’ System in Schools for Student Hydration

Odisha government has introduced a ‘water Bell’ system in all schools across the State. The aim is to ensure that students stay properly hydrated during their school hours.
The School and Mass Education department has sent out directives to the Block Education Officers (BEOs) and District Education Officers (DEOs) to implement this system in all schools statewide.
Here’s how the ‘water Bell’ system works: the school bell will ring three times a day at 8.30 AM, 10 AM, and 11 AM, reminding students to drink water. Teachers will be responsible for ensuring that students drink water during these times. Additionally, they have advised students to use umbrellas and caps when moving around the school premises to shield themselves from the heat.
The introduction of this system is aimed at keeping students hydrated and reducing the risk of heat-related illnesses. With the heat-wave conditions prevailing, the weather department has cautioned everyone to avoid prolonged exposure to direct sunlight to prevent sunstroke.
This initiative by the Odisha government reflects their commitment to the well-being and health of students, ensuring they have access to water and protection from the heat during school hours.

3.Rajya Sabha Welcomes Ashwini Vaishnaw, Debashish Samantaray, and Subhasish Khuntia from Odisha

Ashwini Vaishnaw, Debashish Samantaray, and Subhasish Khuntia, hailing from Odisha, were sworn in as Rajya Sabha members on Thursday.
In a special ceremony held at Sansad Bhawan, the Chairman of Rajya Sabha and Vice President, Jagdeep Dhankhar, administered the oath to Ashwini Vaishnaw from BJP, and Debashish Samantaray and Subhasish Khuntia from BJD. A total of 14 members, including Congress’ former president, Sonia Gandhi, also took the oath today.
It is noteworthy that both Ashwini Vaishnaw and Subhasish Khuntia chose to take their oath in Odia, honoring their roots.
The three seats for which they were elected uncontested saw no other candidates from opposing parties contesting. Due to no withdrawals of nominations, the two nominees from Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Debashish Samantaray and Subhasish Khuntia, along with the lone candidate from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Ashwini Vaishnaw, were elected uncontested on February 20.

4. 33% Women’s Reservation in Odisha Elections 2024

2024 Lok Sabha elections in Odisha, the focus is on which party is providing 33% reservation for women. Before the elections, the top leadership of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) had announced that women would be given 33% reservation in the Lok Sabha elections. Now all eyes are on the Balasore Lok Sabha seat.

However, the Bharatiya Janata Party has not been able to execute its announcement in Odisha. With 21 Lok Sabha seats, if they were to provide 33% reservation for women, then seven women candidates would have to enter the electoral arena. However, the BJP has announced its candidates for 21 seats, and the Vishwa Janata Dal has announced its candidates for 20 seats. The BJP has fielded women candidates on four out of the 21 seats.

On the other hand, the Bharatiya Janata Party has announced candidates for all 21 Lok Sabha seats. The BJP has fielded four women candidates out of 21 seats. In 2019, the BJP had fielded three women candidates. This year, that number has increased by one.

In 2019, the BJP had nominated Aparajita Sarangi from Bhubaneswar, Sangita Singhdeo from Balangir, and Anita Subhadarshini from Asika. In 2024, along with giving them another chance, the party has given a ticket to Malavika Keshari Dev from the Kalahandi seat. This way, the BJP has left 19% of the Lok Sabha seats in Odisha for women this time.

5.Odisha Establishes State Water Informatics Centre for Improved Water Management

Odisha government has set up a state water informatics centre to gather, organize, and standardize hydro-meteorological data from different water sector entities. This aims to enhance water management and disaster readiness across the state.
This centre, acting as a central repository, will allow easy access, analysis, and sharing of data with the national water informatics centre. It will actively provide water-related information through reports, publications, and online platforms.
Led by the Water Resources department, the centre will receive technical support from the national centre, particularly in data management and IT infrastructure.
The state centre will be a key source of hydro-meteorological data, covering vital aspects like groundwater levels, surface water availability, water quality, and demand-supply dynamics. It will also improve disaster preparedness with advanced flood forecasting methods.
To streamline data integration, the centre will work closely with the State Hydrological Data Centre (SHDC) at Rajiv Bhawan and focus on research in hydro-meteorology.

You may also like

Leave a Comment