Home Daily News BJP Announces Candidates with Mix of Veterans and New Faces

BJP Announces Candidates with Mix of Veterans and New Faces

by Nita Mishra

In preparation for the upcoming elections, the BJP has announced its lineup of candidates, including 17 sitting MLAs and fresh faces for key seats in Odisha.

Renominations and New Faces

The BJP has chosen to renominate 17 out of its 22 sitting MLAs, showing confidence in their work. However, there are changes for Bramhagiri and Malkangiri Assembly seats, with new candidates replacing the current legislators.

Notable Absence and Surprising Nominations

Union Minister of State for Tribal Affairs and Jal Shakti, Bishweswar Tudu, did not find a place in the initial list of 112 candidates. However, there is anticipation that he might appear in the second list, likely for either Saraskana or Rairangpur seat. Meanwhile, the party has put forward Bargarh MP Suresh Pujari for the Brajrajnagar Assembly seat.

Replacing Underperforming Members

The party is considering replacing Saraskana MLA Dr. Bhudan Murmu due to reported poor performance. Similarly, Malkangiri MLA Aditya Madhi, citing health issues, will be replaced by senior party worker Narasingh Madkami.

Prominent Candidates

State BJP President Manmohan Samal is set to contest from Chandbali, while other notable figures include Leader of Opposition Jayanarayan Mishra and sitting MLA from Bhawanipatna Pradipta Kumar Nayak. Speculation surrounds Mishra’s daughter Subhashree and Nayak’s wife, possibly receiving tickets for their respective seats.

Gender Representation and Unexpected Nominations

With only eight women candidates nominated, the BJP falls short of its commitment to 33% reservation for women in the legislature. Noteworthy nominations include Arabinda Dhali for Jayadev seat and popular actor Sidhanta Mohapatra for Digapahandi seat.

New Entrants and Former BJD Members

Actor Akash Das Nayak, who recently joined BJP, will contest from Korei. Other ex-BJD members like Priyadarshi Mishra and Babu Singh have also secured nominations.

Other Key Nominations

  • Tankadhar Tripathy for Jharsuguda
  • Kusum Tete for Sundargarh
  • Biswaranjan Badajena for Jatni
  • Prithiviraj Harichandan for Chilika
  • Suryabanshi Suraj from Dhamnagar
  • Padmalochan Panda from Simulia
  • Rajendra Das from Soro
  • Gobinda Chandra Das from Remuna
  • Manas Kumar Dutta from Balasore
  • Braja Pradhan from Jaleswar
  • Irasis Acharya from Bhatli

Seat Vacancy

The party has not yet named a candidate for the Nilagiri seat after the resignation of sitting MLA Sukanta Nayak, who recently switched to BJD.

The BJP’s candidate list reflects a mix of experienced leaders and fresh faces, setting the stage for an interesting electoral battle in Odisha

You may also like

Leave a Comment